Make your own free website on





Established 1960

Population: 14, 902 ( 1980 Census)

Mayor: Marcos Auguis

Number of Barangays: 21

Land Area: 6, 248 hectares

Feast Day: October 13

Patron Saint: Virgin Del Pilar

Tourist Attractions: Bantayan Spring, Inaghuban Cave, Sigpit Dam



This is a new municipality located in the interior of Bohol seventy six kilometers from Tagbilaran City. It was created by Executive Order No. 460 issued by the late former President Carlos P. Garcia on December 26, 1960. It was formerly a barrio of Sierra Bullones and was called Lungsodaan. It used to be the old seat of the municipal government during the Spanish regime. With the approval of Republic Act. No.2370 otherwise known as the Barrio Charter whose main purpose is to give self government to the barrios and to allow their councils to run their own affairs, the barrio of Lungsodaan and neighboring barrios made considerable progress in their economic condition. The barrios comprising the new town pilar are: Lungsodaan ( seat of government), Pamascalan, Aurora, Ilaud, Bagacay, Bajong, Catagdaan, San Carlos, Bagumbayan, Buena Suerte, Estaca, Casilian, Rizal, San Isidro, Inaghuban, Lunday and Tubod. The principal industries of the people are farming, lumbering, cattle raising and weaving.