Population: 11,778 (1980 Census)
Mayor: Joventino Digal
Number of Barangays: 28
Land Area: 8,541 hectares
Feast Day: June 29; Patron Saint: St. Peter
Tourist Attractions: Busay Falls, Cruz Daku, Loboc Church
Loboc, an interior town 24.1 kilometers from the capital, located on a little valley, is dissected by a winding river of the same name. The river was harnessed by a local power plant to generate electricity to support the needs of six municipalities, including Tagbilaran.
According to the Filipino historian, Fr. Horacio de la costa, Loboc was founded by Fr. Juan de Torres in the year 1602. The constructions of the church, the convent and bell tower were undertaken simultaneously but no one can ascertain when each of these project was completed. Volumes of stones and tiles were the construction materials of this church.
On November 26, 1876 the Loboc River overflowed its bank. This was the first flood that caused big destruction of properties and human lives. Nature has adopted new sequence of flooding the town judging from the great floods of 1847, Nov. 21,1955 and November 19 to 20,1964. Intervals of eight and nine years respectively as shown in the marks of the church and houses.
During world War II Loboc became the temporary capital of the province for some time. When mopping operation by the Japanese occupation the chief means of livelihood of the people of Loboc were farming, sinamay weaving, soap making tuba gathering and wine making. At present time, farming and agricultural have remained the most important industry. As land and water transportation improved, copra making, basketry and rattan recognition not only in the Philippines but also outside the country.
Loboc Academy, a private school, owned and managed by PMI Colleges, offers complete secondary courses.
The late Governor Balili was from Loboc.