Make your own free website on





Established 1956

Population; 9,45 ( 9180 Census)

Mayor: Germinio Relampagos

Number of Barangays: 15

Land Area: 9,101

Feast Day: May 24; Patron Saint: Our Lady of Lourdes

Tourist Attractions: Cailagan Falls, Dagohoy Hisrtorical Park


It is an interior town seventy three kilometrs from Tagbilaran. It was formerly Known as Colonia, a barrio of Carmen formed by settlers oof the agricultural colony ooorganized by the late Camilo Calcete who later became the first mayor of the municipality.

The town was established on February 11,1958. It was madee an independent town by executive Order No.1984 isued by the late President Ramon Magsaysay on June 21,1956.

The most important agricultural crops are rice, corn and root crops. It is the sit of one of the reforestation prooject in Bohol.