Make your own free website on


Established 1980

Population: 14,646 (1980 Census)

Mayor: Felix Garcia

Number of Barangays: 15

Land Area: 4,482 hectares

Feast Day: December 28

Patron Saint: Santo Niņo


                Created by virtue of a bill approved by the Batasang Pambansa on December 15, 1980 and by Pres. Ferdinand E. Marcos, and ratified by the people concerned on April 7, 1981 in a plebecite called for such purpose, this new municipality has its seat of government in Barangay Bien Unido which was formerly a part of Talibon. This is the 47th municipality of the province composing of 15 barangays and the islands of Cabantulan and Labongan. Its barangays came from the adjacent municipalities of Talibon (14 barangays) and Trinidad (1 barangay).