Population: 9,833 (1980 Census)
Mayor: Necitas Dumagan, jr.
Number of Barangays: 15
Land Area: 7,851 hectares
Feast Day: July 25
Patron Saint: James
During the second World War, the Batuan Central Elementary School was used as one of the guerilla quarters. It was in this place where the Bohol guerrilla forces were unified.
Batuan is the official and present name of this municipality. It was formerly a barrio of the municipality of Bilar known as Lindogan. It became a municipality by virtue of Act No. 968 dated October 31,1903 of the Philippine Commission due to the efforts of the late Don Manuel Decasa and certain persons bearing the surnames of Tiongson, Barril and Sumampong. When the municipality of Batuan was created in 1903 it comprised the barrio of Poblacion, Cantigdas, Cabacnitan, Cambacay and Rosariohan.
In 1922 the barrio of Sta. Cruz a part of the municipality of Carmen was added to Batuan by virtue of Executive Order No. 52 series of 1921 by then Governor General Leonard Wood. When one drives the roads of Loay, Loboc and Bilar towards the north, Batuan could very well serve as the gateway to the famous Chocolate Hills of Buenos Aires, Carmen. Batuan is 51 kilometers from Tagbilaran and nestles among similar hills but these are covered with bushes and trees.
Raising pigs, basket weaving and copra making are the chief industries of the town. Farming is the most important occupation of the people.